Saturday, April 19, 2008

Race-Ethnic Diversity

The Census Bureau divides the United States into 9 regions, listed below with their component states. The West North Central Division is still the “whitest” region, with about 87% of its population white. The West South Central and Pacific Divisions are the most ethnically diverse. In the Pacific Division, only about half (53%) of the population is white.

West North Central Division: Minnesota, Iowa, Missouri, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas
New England Division: Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut
East North Central Division: Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin
East South Central Division: Kentucky, Tennessee, Alabama, Mississippi
Mountain Division: Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, Colorado, New Mexico, Arizona, Utah, and Nevada
Middle Atlantic Division: New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania
South Atlantic Division: Delaware, Maryland, D.C., Virginia, West Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, and Florida
West South Central Division: Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas
Pacific Division: Washington, Oregon, California, Alaska, and Hawaii

Source: Census Bureau, 2000 United States Census

No comments: